- Pub »
Created by an Almost-Bard
A Bard by name, dog-fighting and a ghostly lady under one roof
This public house has gained quite a rich heritage over the years.
'The Shakespeare' was built and named in 1826 by the then landowner, John Shakespeare, alas no real relation to young William. The basement has a criminal past with dog-fighting a regular occurrence on the original flagstones (which are still there) and to top all of this, there's a ghost.
A Victorian lady dressed in black has often been spotted by staff and guests frequenting the hostelry presumably waiting for a drink!