- Museum »
The Wimbledon Windmill
Wimbledon Common's most famous landmark, the Windmill.
The Windmill here on the common has been a distinctive landmark since it was built in 1817 to serve the local Wimdledon community. The millers also had duties as constables and kept an eye out for wrong doers such as bandits and duellers.
However operation was ceased in 1864, when the machinery was removed and it was converted to residential accommodation for 6 families!
Today the sails have been restored to working order and the building houses a fascinating museum of windmills, with exhibits on rural life and local history.
The museum also has a display of Scouting memorabilia, commemorating the writing of part of 'Scouting for Boys' by Robert Baden-Powell in the Mill House here in 1908.
The museum is administered by a charitable trust and run entirely by volunteers, which allows admission charges to be kept down. It is open on summer weekends only, but school parties can be arranged at other times.