- Literary »
Where Was Wych Street?
The location of the long lost Wych Street.
Where Was Wych Street? is one of the best loved short stories by Stacy Aumonier (18771928). The story has little to do with Wych Street itself, which was wiped from the London map in 1901.
Wych Street ran through where Australia House now stands on Aldwych. It ran West from the Church of St Clement Danes on the Strand to a point towards the southern end of Drury Lane.
The street and all it's stunning but decrepit Elizabethan houses was demolished by the London County Council as part of the redevelopment that created the Kingsway and Aldwych.
Some time near 1780, the brothers George and John Jacob Astor, who later became America's first multi-millionaires, ran an instrument store at 26 Wych Street.
Jack Sheppard, the infamous thief, was apprenticed to a carpenter, Mr. Wood, on Wych Street. One of Sheppard's haunts, the White Lion tavern, was also here on Wych Street.
The music hall performer Arthur Lloyd lived at 39 Wych Street in 1892.